Wealth management: The Nine Nidhis (Part 2)

Wealth management: The Nine Nidhis (Part 2)
Dr KK Aggarwal
Our mythology has described nine types of Nidhis (nawanidhi) or treasures or valuable things, which belong to Kubera, the God of wealth. These nine types of treasures or nidhis are: Mahapadma (great lotus flower), Padma (lotus flower), Shankha (conch), Makara (crocodile), Kachchhapa (tortoise), Kumud (a particular precious stone), Kunda (jasmine), Nila (sapphire) and Kharva (dwarf).

Our total wealth is our treasure. Here, wealth does not represent only material wealth, but also other forms of wealth such as knowledge, children, strength, achievements, awards as denoted by the eight forms of Goddess Lakshmi. Each form of wealth can be further classified and subclassified.

Firstly, according to the duration of the wealth ‘how long will your wealth last for’. This can be further subclassified into three:
  • Will your total wealth be enough for just one generation?
  • Will your total wealth last for your seven generations to come?
  • Will your total wealth sustain forever ‘amar’?
Then there are four negatives attached to wealth or the pursuit of wealth.
  • Worry (chinta): One is constantly thinking and worrying about wealth; how to keep your money safe
  • Dwarf: Here, dwarf means “hold back normal growth”. One is handicapped because of the money e.g. not using it for fear of being caught or using it for negative purposes.
  • Miser (kanjoos): One who spends his wealth reluctantly and hoards wealth akin to the ‘food hoarding behavior of a rat’.
  • Extremely miser (mahakanjoos): One who fears losing his wealth and therefore neither enjoys his wealth himself nor allows anybody to use his wealth.
Each form of wealth also has two positives to it. Ask yourselves:
  • Is your wealth growing sustainably and profitably?
  • Is it allowing me to grow and in turn everybody to grow?
A well-thought out investment plan will help your total wealth to grow itself ‘auto growth’.

Taken together, all these nine aspects of wealth or the pursuit of wealth constitute the nine nidhis, or nine ways by which total wealth can be viewed as.

Disclaimer: The views expressed in this write up are entirely my own.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.