Mera Asia Mahan 7: Panchakam Sadhana for CMAAO unity (One country, One Asia, One World)

The Bhagavad Gita describes Panchakam Sadhana (five steps) for happy living.

  1. Get detached from the attachments (Moha) which can only be done be aspiring for a higher achievement. Choose chitta (intelligence) over mind; mind over Gnanendriyas (motor organs) and Gnanendriyas (sensory organs) over karmendriyas. Convert likes and dislikes in life to right and wrongs in life.
  2. Do not be in company of people who take you away from spiritual aspirations.
  3. Learn from the teachings and experiences of the spiritual Gurus on a continuous basis. Ask yourself before retiring for the day “what did I learn today”
  4. Get detached from the attachment to the choices in life. Choose simple and what is available.
  5. Accept the duality of nature as a part of life. Try to balance in between. Sukh (happiness) and dukh (sorrow) are relative terms and the two sides of the same coin. It’s like a circle. When one ends, the other comes.

Vedic source

Shloka 5 of Chapter 15 of Bhagavad Gita is a commentary of Panchakam Sadhana as described by Adi Shankaracharya.

निर्मानमोहा जितसङ्गदोषाअध्यात्मनित्या विनिवृत्तकामा: |द्वन्द्वैर्विमुक्ता: सुखदु:खसंज्ञैर्गच्छन्त्यमूढा: पदमव्ययं तत् ||

nirmana-moha jita-sanga-dosaadhyatma-nitya vinivrtta-kamahdvandvair vimuktah sukha-duhkha-samjnairgacchanty amudhah padam avyayam tat [Bhagavad Gita Chapter 15.5]


nir—without; mana—mind, mohah—attachment

jita—having conquered; sanga—association; dosah—faulty or bad company

adhyatma—spiritual learning; nityah—daily

vinivrtta—associated; kamah—lusts (getting rid of choices)

dvandvaih—duality; vimuktah—liberated

sukha-duhkha—happiness and distress; samjnaih—named

gacchanti—attains; amudhah—unbewildered; padam—situation; avyayam—eternal; tat—that.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.